Complete List of Precious Gemstones

Complete List of Precious Gemstones

In the wide, luminous world of gemstones, only four are unanimously considered precious: Diamond, Ruby, Emerald, and Sapphire. Each has its own unique set of dazzling properties and qualities, captivating generations for centuries.

As you can expect, these four gemstones top the list when it comes to both rarity and value. That means that not only are they ideal for adorning yourself in unparalleled beauty and luxury, but each gem is also a savvy investment that could potentially increase its worth over time—on top of all the metaphysical benefits it brings!

So, what is it that makes each of these four precious gemstones so special? Here's a handy precious gemstones list to show you exactly why these four rare beauties are so treasured!

In this article:

List of Precious Gemstones


Resplendent and magnificent, Diamonds are renowned for their dazzling brilliance. Composed of pure carbon crystallized under immense heat and pressure deep within the Earth, Diamonds are the hardest minerals on Earth, making them highly durable and long-lasting.

Symbolizing strength, courage, and eternal love, Diamonds are also believed to bring clarity of thought and purpose to their wearer.


The deep, vivid reds of a Ruby are a symbol of love and passion. Rubies have been renowned for centuries for their sumptuous color, enduring hardness, and luster that only grows brighter with time.

Compose of Corundum (Aluminum Oxide) and Chromium, Rubies are just as precious and valuable as Diamonds in many cultures, where they're seen as status symbols and believed to bring good fortune, health, and wisdom.


Rich with a mesmerizing hue of green, Emeralds have been an object of admiration and desire since ancient times. Composed primarily of Beryl with traces of Chromium or Vanadium, the brilliant hues of an Emerald can range from a subtle pastel to a vibrant, lush green.

An Emerald is said to bring good health and well-being, as well as wisdom, hope, and patience.


Unlike other precious gemstones, Sapphire can come in a variety of colors, including blue, yellow, pink, and white. Composed of Corundum and trace elements—the same as Ruby—Sapphires are durable enough for artisans to cut into intricate shapes and designs for jewelry, complementing its already mesmerizing beauty.

Sapphires have been revered for centuries as symbols of love, protection, and truth. They are believed to bring insight, peace of mind, and divine knowledge to their wearer.


The four most precious gemstones—Diamond, Ruby, Emerald, and Sapphire—are truly a sight to behold. Not only do they impart an unmistakable luxury and glamour upon their wearer, but these gems also have unique metaphysical properties that can bring healing, clarity of thought, and good fortune. 

Going with any of these four precious gemstones is a surefire way to adorn yourself with timeless beauty, no matter the occasion. The possibilities are almost endless: each gemstone has its unique history, beauty, and power—one which you can now proudly call your own!

But if you're looking for more affordable gems with no less deep meanings, check out the full list of gemstones and the complete list of semi-precious gemstones, explore their meanings and choose the one that resonates with you the most.

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.